Best DS games for a 5 year old??

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by jmallen99 (30 posts) -

I bought a DSi for my son for Xmas, and he'll be almost 5 by the time the holidays roll around. I'm totally new to the DS myself having shunned portable gaming systems all these years for the "bigger brother" systems.

What are the best games for his age group - games that are the best overall, with suitable content (he won't be playing "GTA: China Wars" - but I might ;), and most importantly will be easy enough to play at his skill level?

Just from a quick search: definitely Mario Kart (he loves the Wii version) -what about Yoshi's Island?, Nintendogs?, Scribblenauts looks promising?,Zelda: Phantom Hourglass or Spirit Tracks?(I love the Zelda series but I don't know if he'll be able to get into it). Though I dread it, the Pokemon series seems pretty popular. Is it something I should look into for him?

Any educational games for his age group?

I got a DSi for the same price as the DS Lite, and I wanted that model because of the ability to download games online. Any downloadable games worth looking into for him?

Thanks for any helpful replies!

(PS: Is there a way to turn on reply notification, such that if someone replies to my post I'll get an e-mail letting me know? Thanks.)

#2 Posted by LaytonsCat (3652 posts) -

Something Mario. NSMB or Kart likely. Although my bosses six year old loved Bowser's inside story, but found it a little hard

#3 Posted by rgsniper1 (9341 posts) -

Sonic Collection, Super Mario Bros, Spongebob Truth or Square, Penguins of Madagascar, Mario Party, Mario Cart, All the Lego Games, Chocobo Tails, Batman the Brave and Bold, Marvel Super Hero Squad, Yoshi, Backyardigans, clubhouse Games.

If he's good at video games at that age he might start enjoying the Castlevanias, Pokemon, Nanostray, Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles...

#4 Posted by layton2012 (3653 posts) -