Intel Demonstrates DX12 On A Surface Pro 3

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for NVIDIATI
#1 Edited by NVIDIATI (8244 posts) -

At SIGGRAPH 2014, Intel has demonstrated DirectX 12 on a Surface Pro 3 (i5-4300U).

The first demonstration shows the power savings of DX12, using Intel's Asteroids demo, has the FPS locked:

Power reduction seen when switching from DirectX 11 to DirectX 12
Power reduction seen when switching from DirectX 11 to DirectX 12

The second demonstration shows the performance boost while drawing the same amount of power:

DirectX 11 without FPS lock
DirectX 11 without FPS lock
DirectX 12 without FPS lock
DirectX 12 without FPS lock

Overall, the results show a ~50% decrease in CPU power consumption, or a ~50% increase in FPS on the same hardware running DX12.

For more information, check out the link.

Avatar image for FireEmblem_Man
#2 Posted by FireEmblem_Man (14537 posts) -

I feel that the next iteration of the Surface Pro with new Intel processors will be thinner and lighter, and better battery life support.

Avatar image for musicalmac
#3 Posted by musicalmac (24704 posts) -

@FireEmblem_Man said:

I feel that the next iteration of the Surface Pro with new Intel processors will be thinner and lighter, and better battery life support.

I want to make a Captain Obvious reference, but that's so 90's.

lol

Avatar image for NVIDIATI
#4 Posted by NVIDIATI (8244 posts) -

For anyone interested:

Watch Intel explain in more detail during their video interview on Thursday August 14th at 2pm PDT here:

http://www.waskul.tv/

2:00 PM PDT || 5:00 PM EDT || 10:00 PM BST