Why are bad games made? What are the devs thinking while they're making them?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

shani_boy101

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1 shani_boy101
Member since 2006 • 5423 Posts

I'm talking about the truly terrible games, the ones that flat out suck, and Big Rigs level awfulness. Why are these games made? Why are these developers even in the industry? What do they think about the games while they're making them?

If I was a game developer and came to the realisation that the game I was making sucked ass, I would probably either scrap production and start anew or try to fix what's wrong. If my developer team wasn't up to the challenge of making a big budget game then I wouldn't do one. Attempt omething that is achieveable and results in a fun, polished product. What's the point of going through with it and making a terrible game that no one will play? Will that get you get you somewhere in the industry? Why are you wasting your life on this crap?

Same goes for movies and any other medium really. It's probably got something to do with ego.

Thoughts?

Just-Breathe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#2 Just-Breathe
Member since 2011 • 3130 Posts
Well, its all opinion isn't it? One game one person calls bad another person could call amazing.
AbandonedFish

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 AbandonedFish
Member since 2006 • 141 Posts

I've yet to meet someone who thought Big Rigs was an amazing game. And I mean amazing as in 'man that really is a good game' and not 'it's amazing how retarded this game is'.

Vangaurdius

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

#4 Vangaurdius
Member since 2007 • 671 Posts
Denial.
shani_boy101

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 shani_boy101
Member since 2006 • 5423 Posts
Well, its all opinion isn't it? One game one person calls bad another person could call amazing.Just-Breathe