What's wrong with Dead Island?!?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Baroni88

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Baroni88
Member since 2011 • 345 Posts

Ok, so I just started playing Dead Island for the first time (I know, it's been like 3 or 4 years since release) and I can't find any reason for it too have such low scores, besides for the drop-in multiplayer.

The combat is amazing. When you are being rushed by a zombie and swing your machete at the perfect moment to wack his/her head off, there is nothing more satisfying. The gun combat is a little clanky but the melee combat more than makes up for it. I LOVE the fact that you can have all the weapons you'd want but always feel vulnerable around every turn. The noise ambiance is amazing in Act 2. I love how the storm rolls in and you hear screams in the distance but can't tell if it's a zombie running at your or just zombies in the distance. It's got a lot of creepiness, which I think has to do with your vulnerability.

So, to get to the point, I want to know why people don't enjoy this game. I love the melee combat and creepiness and how you have to take your time as to not rush into a crowd of Zombies. Everything feels so balanced.

What's your thoughts? For people who've played both Dead island and Riptide, is Riptide just like the original? I want to know if I should look into buying it if I enjoy the first one so much.

Thanks for any responses. :)

bowchicka07

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

User Lists: 5

#2 bowchicka07
Member since 2013 • 1104 Posts

Riptide is just like the original. Not really anything different at all. I liked both the games but I can see why people wouldn't...

Everything is really bland on Dead Island. All the missions are fetch, go here and there, or kill this. There is no real depth to any missions, plot, or characters.