What makes RPGs good or bad?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

elanor

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 elanor
Member since 2005 • 25 Posts

Hi, I am a student currently working on my masters in Game Design at Full Sail University. For my thesis, I hope to create a list of guidelines for Role-playing games (RPG). Its purpose is to help game developers create better games by having a strong foundation. Im seeking feedback from players on what makes RPGs good or bad. If you're interested in helping me please click the link below and take my survey.

Guidelines for RPGs

In case the link does not work for you, you can copy and paste the following into you're address bar:

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/rpg_guidelines

AlbedoSnake

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 AlbedoSnake
Member since 2003 • 10386 Posts

Maybe you should've specified that your area of focus is very specifically the type we tend to call the "WRPG." The survey has practically nothing to do with JRPGs.

darkimposter

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#3 darkimposter
Member since 2010 • 25 Posts

I suppose the first and foremost things is to make sure that the player feels like they are part of the game world (immersion). If they don't feel connected to it then it does become rather difficult for the player to connect to both the other characters in the story but also the events. After that I suppose making sure controls aren't overtly difficult to execute in battle, IE if a battle takes place in real time then I don't want to have to do a full 360 circle + X, Tri, R2 just to initiate a combo or chain attacks together, unless of course the battle system is set up in which the participants respond by such things (IE X= char 1, O = Char 3 ect. ect.)

That's all I really got at the moment.

PrimeLens

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 PrimeLens
Member since 2012 • 25 Posts