The Quest for Better Box Art

This topic is locked from further discussion.

digitaldame

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

User Lists: 2

Edited By digitaldame
Member since 2006 • 5401 Posts

A few months ago, I was at a Magic the Gathering event in Portland. I was working check in for VIP which meant that I got to meet a LOT of cool people. Among those people was a guy named Peter Lapp. He made a comment about the awesomeness of my laptop and it started a conversation about what I did for a living. But enough about me, this post is about Peter.

You see, Peter appreciated the awesomeness of my laptop because he himself is in the industry, well sort of. He is a part of a Kickstarter for Better Box Art. Here are a few of the pieces:

So what is Better Box Art exactly? Here's their mission statement:

Simply put it's alternate video game cover art by talented artists from around the US.

Better Box Art is a group of long-time video game lovers and entrepreneurs out of Portland, OR who, alongside a talented team of artists from across the country, believe that video game box art should be as unique and creative as the games they represent. Too often, video game covers are designed by marketing teams whose goal is to find the design which will sell best on store shelves. As a result, video game covers are too often generic, festooned with obnoxious marketing, or simply not a fair representation of the game.

The goal of Better Box Art is to provide cover art which captures every drop of creative vision that went into the game itself. Our covers are unique, personal, and are designed to look good on display.

The games we’ve chosen are among the most popular and beloved in recent years; games which inspire us and others creatively and, we think, deserve to have cover art which celebrates their aesthetic style.

TLDNR: These guys are awesome and you should consider Kickstarting them.