Ramming in Racing Games?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by MathMattS (4002 posts) -

Hi all!

I'm relatively new to non-combative racing games and I had a question.

In racing games that are just straight racing (i.e. no weapons and no power-ups), is it considered bad etiquette and/or cheating to intentionally ram into other players in an attempt to spin them out or get ahead of them? Thanks!

#2 Posted by Lulu_Lulu (8596 posts) -

that entirely depends on the dicipline. In rallycross its okay, in formula one it is not okay.

#3 Edited by The_Last_Ride (68910 posts) -

If it's a sim game like F1, Forza or Gran Turismo, then yeah, you shouldn't do it. Arcade games like Need for Speed or Dirt are more acceptable

#4 Edited by Black_Knight_00 (18059 posts) -

That reminds me when many years ago a potential date challenged me to a Daytona USA race. She was good and was slightly ahead of me at the final stretch... but since I'm an overly competitive asshole I rammed her car hard into the side of the road and won. She hasn't spoken to me since, but damn was it worth it.

#5 Posted by marcheegsr (2430 posts) -

I hate the people that ram me in GTA V races.

#6 Posted by Lulu_Lulu (8596 posts) -

@ Black_Knight_00

You Monster ! :0

#7 Posted by gpuFX16 (1296 posts) -

Like others have said, mostly ok in games like Dirt, Blur or Burnout, not so much in Forza, F1 and GT. In my time playing racing games online, I've found that being cautious and steady is the winning strategy, because most online players are all about smash n' ram.

Example: My first race in GTA Online had about 3 other human players. I intentionally got off to a slow start, expecting the ones ahead to take each other out. And that's exactly what happened. They rammed each other into a corner, and I just sailed on by. Won the race by 5 seconds.

#8 Posted by Areez (6278 posts) -
#9 Posted by Areez (6278 posts) -