Two things i dont understand (spoilers)

#1 Posted by PuRe2772 (15 posts) -

1. How was Comstock able to open up the tear to get Anna?

2. How does Booker get to Comstocks universe at the start of the game? It must happen before we assume control over Booker, but is any hint made to it?

#2 Posted by Zippon (189 posts) -

1.  Rosalind Lutece discovers a way to bridge realities as part of her research.  Elizabeth was never the source of the tears.  That's something most of us probably assumed.  Rosalind figured out how to peer through the tears, Comstock starting using them to look into the future, and he asked Rosalind to use her connection with her "brother" to get Anna from Booker.

2.  My take is that you've been looping for some time, courtesy of the Luteces.  That's why they argue about whether the experiment is worth conducting at the very beginning.  You aren't supposed to see Booker being pulled through as it's already happened.

But I'm no expert.  ;-)

#3 Posted by Large_Soda (8620 posts) -

Isn't there a scene towards the end of the game where the Lutece's are dragging Booker?  I would presume that is what takes place immediately before the game opens on the boat.

#4 Posted by ThunderSly (22 posts) -

1. The Lutece created the machine which was able to open tears, Comstock went through the tear to get Elizabeth, because, due to his continuous exposure to universe-travelling he became sterile and aged quickly, but he wanted a heir so he went through the tear to buy his daughter from himself so his old self could pay off his debt. However when Elizabeth was passing through the tear it closed on her finger, which made her "exist" in two different worlds (the old Booker's world and Comstock's world) and that made her be able to create tears.