I'm about to start hard mode

#1 Posted by sagejonathan (873 posts) -
I'm not good at shooting games but I'm a fan of this series and after beating it on medium I decided that I should go try Hard because I love this game so much. I'm about 2hrs in. Any tips? How is the money supply? I've lost a lot of money at the beginning :/
#2 Posted by Frag_Maniac (2059 posts) -

Hard isn't too bad money wise if you don't run n gun too much. You can get back some or all of that cash you lost once you upgrade Possession with Possession for Less and start zapping vending machines with it, which makes them drop coins. It's not a huge amount you get so it's best to get the battles done in the area, then top off salts, then look for any extra salts you can top off with again before you decide whether to zap the machines. After a while you get to know whether it's worth it or not to zap them.

There'a also several places in the game you can bypass battles to save ammo and health, and therefore money. Once you're in Finkton you can skip the first Handyman on the way to The Good Time Club, as well as the troops on the way to Shantytown. Then the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Boys of Silence trumpet head guys in the asylum, and finally the entire deck of enemies on the zepplein just before the engineering deck where the Handyman is. However make sure before you flip the switch to clear the skyline on that deck you use the vigor machine, because it's the last one in the game.

That's 6 total battles I know of you can skip completely just by running past, and in each case it can be done without taking any damage.

#3 Posted by rubango (29 posts) -

Hard was more fun than medium. Only used money to upgrade my vigors since it is hard to come by.

#4 Posted by Frag_Maniac (2059 posts) -