Bioshock Infinite proved me, and the whole video game industry wrong.

#1 Posted by GamerNerdTalk (379 posts) -

As people already know, Bioshock Infinite is incredible. I have never thought a single game would be so engrossing. Being a college student I traded in almost ten games to get it, including the action sword fighting game  Metal Gear Rising. To be honest I was very hesitant doing it. I really enjoyed Metal Gear Rising for example. 

Which brings me to my big point. Before playing Bioshock Infinite, I would have never bought a first person shooter game with a man on the cover holding a gun, (exception going to Spec Ops: The Line). Bioshock Infinite does not have the best engine, nor does it have the best photo realistic graphics. But I would say still, Bioshock Infinite is the most beautiful game this generation, up there with Journey and El Shaddai: Ascention of the Metatron. The aesthetic and presentation of this game was mind blowingly awe-inspiring. 

In everyway Bioshock Infinite proves our industry of gaming wrong by having a single player, first person shooter without photo realisic graphics. 

I never thought I would have ever thought a first person shooter would be a sure contender for my personal game of the year, nor did I thing an fps would have such a captivating narrative and well written story. 

Irrational Games showed me the lesson of dont rule out shooting games because the are overdone, but rather showed me, all genres can be special. I think FPS's have a new standard set by Bioshock Infinite, and just hope that the industry can follow and make more engrossing fps games.

#2 Posted by marcheegsr (2842 posts) -

Ten games? Wow must of been old sport titles.

I hate trading in games, never is worth it.

But getting Bioshock was a good choice man.

#3 Posted by WestonX (2 posts) -
If you haven't played it yet, I suggest you invest in Bioshock (1), IMO the game is equally as good as Infinite (as far as I am so far) and also a masterpiece.