Resident Evil-Inspired Horror Game Daymare: 1998 Gets New Trailer, Watch It Here

Daymare: 1998 is a survival horror title from a Resident Evil 2 fan group.

14 Comments

RELATED
Daymare: 1998
Follow

Daymare: 1998, an indie survival horror game inspired by Resident Evil, has received a new trailer just hours before its Kickstarter campaign goes live.

The trailer offers a glimpse at the game's eerie setting. It also features creepy voices and flashes of at least one enemy. Take a look for yourself above.

Developer Invader Studios was previously developing a fan remake of Resident Evil 2 before the project was abandoned at Capcom's request. Resident Evil 2 was released in 1998, a number that features heavily in Daymare's marketing, most prominently in its name. This new title features "many connections with beloved old school survival horror games and '90s landmark brands," according to the developer.

A number of developers that worked on Resident Evil titles have also signed up to contribute to the project. Kazuhiro Aoyama, who served as planner on the first Resident Evil and directed Resident Evil 3: Nemesis, is associate producer on Daymare. Satoshi Nakai, enemy designer on Code Veronica, is contributing as creature sketch artist.

In addition to the trailer, Invader has revealed new details about the game's Kickstarter campaign. Reward tiers range from €1 (around US $1.06) to €7000 ($7,404), with a digital copy of the game costing €12 ($12.69). The Kickstarter campaign begins on February 15 at 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET / 4 PM GMT and will end March 17.

No release date has yet been set for Daymare, which is currently only coming to PC.

For more on Daymare, check out its announcement trailer here, or its first official gameplay here.

Did you enjoy this article?

  • Join the conversation
    There are 14 comments about this story