Pokemon X and Y features new region and rideable Pokemon

Nintendo unveils the France-like Kalos region alongside four new Pokemon.


3DS adventures Pokemon X and Y will be set in an entirely new region called Kalos, Nintendo has announced.

Nintendo also announced that the capital of Kalos will be Lumiose City, which contains a massive tower reminiscent of Paris' Eiffel Tower.

The Pokedex in Pokemon X and Y will also be split across the Kalos region's three unique areas, though Nintendo has yet to say how many Pokemon will feature in the final game.

Nintendo also unveiled four Pokemon new for Pokemon X and Y: the life-leeching electric Pokemon Helioptile; the swift flying Fletchling; Pancham, who can lower the defence of an enemy Pokemon and then switch out for another; and Gogoat, a rideable Pokemon who can be used as a mount in the game for the first time in the series.

Pokemon X and Y will launch for 3DS in October 2013. For more information on the game, check out GameSpot's previous coverage.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Did you enjoy this article?

Sign In to Upvote


Martin Gaston

Hi! I'm Martin, for some reason or another I have managed to convince the people who run GameSpot that I am actually wor
Pokemon X/Y

Pokemon X/Y

Load Comments