PlayStation 4 digital and sharing policies explained

All users can play downloaded games belonging to the primary user on their registered device.

180 Comments

Sony has released an FAQ explaining the digital and sharing policies for the PlayStation 4.

Each PlayStation Network account can mark a PlayStation 4 as the user's "primary" console, and in doing so all additional users on the console can play downloaded games and receive unspecified PlayStation Plus benefits.

Registering a console as a primary PS4 also allows the user to connect a Vita and use Remote Play, Sony adds.

Deregistering a system as the primary PlayStation 4 can only be done from that system, Sony says. Systems must be deactivated before another PlayStation 4 can be registered as the primary device, and Sony adds that users should deactivate their PS4 if they "plan to transfer or dispose of it."

If a PlayStation Network user signs in on another PlayStation 4, they can download and play games associated with their account, but other users on the system will not be able to access them. The same goes for PlayStation Plus benefits.

Sony also points out that only two PlayStation 4 systems can be used concurrently: the primary console associated with an account, and one other.

The PlayStation 4 will be released on November 15 in North America, and November 29 in Europe.

Did you enjoy this article?

  • Join the conversation
    There are 180 comments about this story