Black Ops II Vengeance DLC launching July 2

Third expansion for latest Call of Duty game arriving first on Xbox Live next month; features four maps, one Zombies environment, and new ray gun weapon.

RELATED Call of Duty: Black Ops II

The leak was accurate. Activision today announced that the third expansion for Call of Duty: Black Ops II is called Vengeance and will launch first on Xbox Live beginning July 2.

The downloadable content features four multiplayer maps (Cove, Detour, Rush, and Uplink) as well as a new Zombies adventure called Buried that includes a new Ray Gun Mark II weapon.

The Uplink multiplayer environment is a reimagining of the original Black Ops' Summit map.

"Vengeance addresses the community desire to have head-to-head, super-controlled gameplay," design director David Vonderhaar said. "It's pushing you. And the players who have the skill are the ones who are going to come out on top of those battles. We're coming back with a vengeance."

Vengeance is the third expansion for Black Ops II, following Revolution in January and Uprising in April. Four map packs are planned for the game in total.

No pricing was announced for Vengeance, though all DLC is included with the $50 Season Pass, and past releases sold for $15 each as individual downloads.

For more on Vengeance, check out the video below.

Did you enjoy this article?

  • Join the conversation
    There are no comments about this story